|LOUD PLACES || QUIET SOULS|

Smiling faces greeting us at the door,

Laser light beams swirling all across the floor,

Urbanized ethereal décor depicting famous folk lores.

The smell of sizzlers, fries and booze,

Flooding the nostrils of everyone in the room,

Waiters rushing to and fro taking orders

And making sure that St. Valentine’s day is celebrated with a blast! Young couples on the dance floor, grooving to the upbeat music and keeping each other’s tempo.

.

.

– “Hi Sir! A table for two?”
– “No, just for me. Thank you”

Perplexed and maybe even a tad bit shocked,
He points towards one of the corners of the room.
I wade through the sea of intoxicated lovers,
While hearing the loud music eat up most of the silent proposals.

I order my usual, a scotch whiskey on the rocks,
And the DJ puts on one of those romantic tracks.
The disco ball goes off and the dim lights come on,
I look around to see if I’m the only odd one out!

And there she was, sitting at the other corner of the room,
Sipping her Cosmopolitan and looking at the couples’ dance; with what seemed like forlorn eyes.

She seemed familiar; as if I’d seen her somewhere,
Her brown hair seemed like a cascade, beautifully complimenting her smile which seemed sad on the inside.
I felt an urge to not look away, which was uncommon for a guy like me; I’m sure you have deciphered that already by yourselves.

I had read about broken smiles plastered on happily masked faces but I had never experienced it before and it pierced right through my heart which had already been shattered into a million pieces. And then our eyes met for a few seconds..

“You can say what you want but I’m giving it a chance”

©theblackcurse

Song ~ Revelator eyes by The Paper Kites

4 thoughts on “|LOUD PLACES || QUIET SOULS|

  1. This poem really had a lot of “beat” to it. I felt like it may have been influenced by modern hip-hop or something akin to that. I was a little sad that the rhyme scheme was inconsistent. Than again, that may be the hip-hop influence, where rhyme comes in and goes out without structure beyond the beat itself.

    A good experiment, but I would definitely love seeing this metrical idea used on a story less mundane than meeting a girl at a bar.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment